DATE ISSUED: November 30, 2007
Beginning January 1, 2008, the statewide tax rates on motor fuel and diesel fuel will increase. Florida law requires annual adjustments to the state fuel tax rates and the State Comprehensive Enhanced Transportation System (SCETS) tax rate, based on the National Consumer Price Index.
The state tax rate on motor fuel will increase from 15.3 cents per gallon to 15.6 cents per gallon. Please see the enclosed Year 2008 State Taxes, Ninth-Cent, Local Option, Additional Local Option and SCETS Motor Fuel Taxes chart for the appropriate fuel tax for your county.
The tax rate on diesel fuel will increase from 28.5 cents per gallon to 29 cents per gallon statewide. This rate is based on the total of the state tax rate on diesel fuel, which will increase from 15.3 cents per gallon to 15.6 cents per gallon, and the SCETS and local option tax rates, which will increase from 13.2 cents per gallon to 13.4 cents per gallon statewide.
The state tax rate on aviation fuel will remain at 6.9 cents per gallon.
Terminal Suppliers - In addition to the $0.156 state fuel taxes collected at the loading rack, terminal suppliers must collect a minimum local option fuel tax in the amount of $0.103 on each gallon of gasoline sold to licensed wholesalers. Total fuel taxes collected by terminal suppliers on gasoline sold to wholesalers shall be $0.259 per gallon.
Wholesalers - Wholesalers must remit to the Department of Revenue the local option tax above the state and minimum local option tax ($0.259) on gasoline sold to retail dealers or end-users.
Additionally, beginning January 1, 2008, county rate changes take effect in Alachua, Gulf, Okeechobee, and Nassau Counties. Please see the enclosed Year 2008 State Taxes, Ninth-Cent, Local Option, Additional Local Option and SCETS Motor Fuel Taxes chart for the appropriate fuel tax in your county.
January 2008 returns and the electronic filing software for wholesalers reflecting new tax rates will be distributed to fuel tax licensees in mid-January. The January return is due February 1, 2008, and is late after February 20, 2008. Failure to properly file a tax return may result in the assessment of penalty and interest and loss of the collection allowance.
References: Chapter 206, Florida Statutes; Rule Chapter 12B-5, Florida Administrative Code.
This document is intended to alert you to the requirements contained in Florida laws and administrative rules. It does not by its own effect create rights or require compliance.
For forms and other information, visit our Internet site at www.myflorida.com/dor or call Taxpayer Services, 8:00 a.m. to 7:00 p.m., ET, Monday through Friday, excluding holidays, at 800-352-3671.
For a detailed written response to your questions, write the Florida Department of Revenue, Taxpayer Services, Mail Stop 3-2000, 5050 West Tennessee Street, Tallahassee, FL 32399-0112.