DATE ISSUED: June 29, 2010
Effective July 1, 2010, the "Mark Wandall Traffic Safety Program" authorizes the use of traffic infraction detectors, commonly known as red light running cameras, on Florida's roads, streets, and highways. Based on photographs taken by these cameras, local traffic infraction enforcement officers may issue a citation and impose a $158 penalty on the registered owner of the vehicle for failure to stop at a red light. The penalty is paid to the municipality or county issuing the citation.
Section 316.0083(1)(b)3.b., Florida Statutes, authorizes municipalities and counties to retain $75 of each penalty and requires them to electronically remit the remaining $83 to the Department of Revenue on a weekly basis for distribution to the following funds:
The Department has developed a new electronic system for reporting and paying the penalties collected. Before you can file and pay the penalties electronically, you must enroll with the Department's e-Services program by completing Form DR-600A, Enrollment and Authorization for e-Services Program. Be sure to check the "DOR - Local governments (Red Light Camera Fines)" under Section 4 - Fee/Remittance Type Payment Method Selection, sign the form, and mail it to the address on the form.
Within 5 days of receiving your completed form, your user identification number and password will be mailed to you. Even if you are currently filing and paying taxes to the Department electronically, you must enroll using Form DR-600A to report and pay this new penalty.
Once you have received your user identification number and password, you can report and pay the new penalties. Each weekly transaction must be completed before 5:00 p.m., Eastern Time, on the 6th working day following the close of the week in which the penalties were collected.
The new file and pay system "Red Light Camera Remittances" is located at http://dor.myflorida.com/dor/info_localgovt.html. You will be prompted to log into the system. Once you have logged in, you will be able to report the penalties designated for each state fund and pay the total reported to the Department. The following lines are included in the report and pay system:
|Website Line||Revenue Description||Amount|
|1||$70 of the $158 for violation of s. 316.074(1) or s. 316.075(1)(c)1.|
|2||$10 of the $158 for violation of s. 316.074(1) or s. 316.075(1)(c)1.|
|3||$3 of the $158 for violation of s. 316.074(1) or s. 316.075(1)(c)1|
Reference: Section 316.0083, Florida Statutes (2010), Chapter 2010-80, Laws of Florida. (Sections 5 and 12, CS/CS/HB 325, 2nd Engrossed)
This document is intended to alert you to the requirements contained in Florida laws and administrative rules. It does not by its own effect create rights or require compliance.
For forms and other information, visit our Internet site at www.myflorida.com/dor or call Taxpayer Services, 8:00 a.m. to 7:00 p.m., ET, Monday through Friday, excluding holidays, at 800-352-3671.
For a detailed written response to your questions, write the Florida Department of Revenue, Taxpayer Services, Mail Stop 3-2000, 5050 West Tennessee Street, Tallahassee, FL 32399-0112.